-フローレス パッション-

「毎日楽しいの為に」 Flawless Passion

Life This Month 50 – February 2016

When I initially started typing up this post, I thought that I wasted a lot of time and didn’t do much this month, but it turns out I had more to type than I thought. I still feel that I could have been more productive though. I returned to using Google Calendar for a while, but stopped again when I realized that it was more of a hassle than help.

This month, I started putting together the RG 0 Raiser. I had already completed the 00 Gundam along with its GN Sword IIs, and displayed it by itself for a while. But now, I really want to see it in its 00 Raiser form and square its output of posing possibilities. Lame jokes aside, I was especially curious about how the binders attach to the GN Drives. I want to modify the GN Drives to make them look cooler and on that train of thought, I even considered embedding LEDs into them.

Those ideas are fun to think about, but I can’t afford the time or resources to dedicated into such projects right now. Everything will be a straight build for the time being. As you can see above, the 0 Raiser is uncompleted, but has enough parts to have its recognizable silhouette.

The main reason why I started on the 0 Raiser was because early in the month, I completed the straight build of my HG Arios Gundam. During the build, I thought a lot about the Gundam’s design and what I can do to improve the model. I even rewatched parts of Gundam 00, mostly looking at the fight scenes to gather references on detailing and combat style. Anyways, I got reminded of how awesome the 00 Raiser is. Other choices I considered were the HG Star Build Strike Gundam and the HG Unicorn Gundam Destroy Mode.

So I even rewatched parts of the A Wakening of The Trailblazer movie, which didn’t garner much positive reaction even for a Gundam 00 fan like myself. However, for this partial rewatch, I skipped straight to the fight scenes, which were utterly impressive. It is a shame that the ending failed to convey how all the characters continued with their lives after the conflict. To satisfy that desire, I speculated together with a friend about what might the different characters would go on to do.

The 14th was Valentines Day! …which for someone like me who is not in a romantic relationship, it had always been just a normal day. I spent the morning playing some Baldr Sky, and in the afternoon, I played the Toaru Kagaku no Railgun game on the PSP. That’s right, PSP! In fact, like most game I own, I touched the game for a few minutes when I first got it and then never got around to actually playing it. It took many years, but I decided that today was the day I play it. I dedicated the rest of the day to that game and I finished the 1st chapter at night before heading to sleep. The game was great just like I knew it was. I really miss Railgun, so seeing these characters again in this fully voiced visual novel was just perfect. I continued onto chapter 2 the next night, and it took a few days to clear. I started on chapter 3 on the 23rd.

Playing the Railgun game encouraged me to take out Figma Mikoto for display. The first pose I put her in was a casual ‘walking around while talking on the phone’ pose. But I felt unimpressed and went for the ‘coin flip railgun firing’ pose instead. I prefer to have my Figma in action poses.

Toaru Kagaku no Railgun on the PSP wasn’t the only game that I haven’t played in a long time. Bullet Girls on the PSV was a game I bought during my time in Japan in 2014. I had stopped playing it when I got stuck on a level that I couldn’t beat. I saw that Bullet Girls 2 is coming out soon, and although I have no intention of playing the sequel, I thought that I should at least finish the first game. The good news is that I finally beat that level I was stuck on and even beat the game. The last level took a bunch of tries too. The sad news is that there were a bunch of unlockable items that will take hundreds of hours to earn enough points for… so no completing everything in the game.

Another game I haven’t properly played is ToLove-Ru: Battle Ecstasy which I haven’t touched since Oct.13th 2014. I slotted the game in and went for a quest or two, but I don’t think I like the game. I am just not feeling the 3D CG. And while I like the Musou style combat, using weapons like a giant brush with derpy enemies cheapens the experience. The game takes place inside a dungeon and so every floor is just the same gray walls over and over again. I am only interested in the visual novel and events part, but this game doesn’t even have a backlog! My decision is that I am going to pass this game onto my little brother who also likes ToLove-Ru.

I am still playing SAO: Lost Song. Not much to report besides it being enjoyable. I am getting a hang of the combat system. So far I unlocked up to the 3rd island and unlocked new dungeons in all of the islands, where I need to gather 6 orbs to unlock a big door. The story haven’t gotten into any significant at the moment.

In PSO2, I went through all of the story boards released so far. Initially, I feared that there won’t be a story or that the story will be lackluster, but it looks interesting and has some potential. I look forward to playing more of the story when new story boards come out. Weapon-wise, I finally got the 13☆ Orbit series Knuckles after doing a bunch of Tower Defense 終焉 and several runs of the limited time quest to gather enough crystals to exchange for the weapon. It looks pretty awesome, and so now I am using Knuckles more often.

For a while, I have been watching my little brother play Tales of Graces F, and he finished the main story on the 24th. For me, the story, combat, and overall gameplay is kind of meh. But my little brother has played other “Tales of” games before, and liked the series enough to purchase the next game in the series, Tales of Xillia. I plan on watching him play this too, but before that, he needs to play the after story in Tales of Graces F.

On the night of the 28th, I contacted an old friend that I haven’t spoken to in a while. I can’t think of a nickname for him at the moment. Anyways, he has been in Seattle for the past year or two. I chat with him to see how things are going. Neither of our lives have gone anywhere. We are both stuck at home, unemployed, lost in life. Like old times, we worried about our future. Worrying aside, I also talked about my experiences in China and showed him some pictures. It was nice talking to him again, and hopefully our lives are a little different the next time we chat.

Throughout this month, I really thought about what I want for my future. I actually job searched a little bit, flipping back and forth between the idea of working in the US for the time being or jump straight to working in Japan. For some reason, I feel that it is about time for me to move on, and that means going to Japan. I explored what choices I can make and I am in the process of developing a plan. I have goals to achieve and places I’d rather be at. I am already 22, and will be 23 in 3 months. I can’t afford to waste anymore time.

This month, I watched the following:

  • PSO2 The Animation (ep.4-6)
  • Cardfight!! Vanguard (finished season 1)
  • Fairy Tail (started)
  • Hacka Doll (ep.5)
  • One Piece (ep.633-642. Arrived in ドレスローザ, groups split up for their assigned tasks)

And read these manga:

  • Kami nomi zo Shiru Sekai (finished vol.15, on vol. 16)
  • ToLove-Ru Darkness (finished vol.9, on vol.10)
  • Zombitch ha Bitch ni Fukumaremasuka (vol.5)
  • Shokugeki no Souma (vol.7)
コメントをどうぞ! Feel free to comment below.

